If you enjoyed The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry by
Gabrielle Zevin, you might like these other books:


A Man Called Ove  (July 2014)
Fredrik  Backman

A curmudgeon hides a terrible personal loss beneath a cranky and short-tempered exterior while clashing with new neighbors, a boisterous family whose chattiness and habits lead to unexpected friendship.


The Readers of  Broken Wheel Recommend
(Jan 2016)
Katarina Bivald

Sara arrives in the small town of Broken Wheel to visit her pen pal Amy, only to discover Amy has just died. The tale of how she brings the love of books and reading that she shared with Amy to the residents of Broken Wheel is just a lovely read. Any book lover will enjoy Sara’s story and that of the friends she makes in Broken Wheel. The healing power of books and reading is made evident by this heartwarming book.


The Bookshop on the Corner  (Sept 2016)
Jenny Colgan

Despite losing her job as a librarian who liked to put the right book into a patron’s hands, Nina continues her mission by moving to rural Scotland, purchasing a van, converting it into a bookmobile,and taking to the road. The plot revolves around the romance of the road, the romance of books and reading, and just plain old romance.


The Little Paris Bookshop  (Jun 2015)
Nina George

Quirky and delightful, Nina George’s book focuses on Jean Perdu, owner of the Literary Apothecary, a floating bookshop. When a new tenant in his apartment building sets in motion events that force Jean to re-evaluate his past, he finds himself floating off down the rivers of France in search of lost love, new love, and friends he didn’t know he needed.


84, Charing Cross Road  (Jan 1970)
Helene Hanff

What started as a request for an out-of-print book evolved into a 20-year friendship between Helene Hanff, a freelance writer living in New York, and Frank Doel, a used-book dealer in London.


How to Find Love in a Bookshop  (Aug 2017)
Veronica Henry

When Emilia’s father dies, she returns to her small English village, takes over his beloved bookshop, and begins working through both her grief and the myriad renovations and changes the store needs. The author weaves stories of multiple village residents and their romantic travails and triumphs. The interwoven storylines offered wide variety without becoming scattered or straining to remain believably interrelated.


The Book that Matters Most  (Aug 2016)
Ann Hood

A recently separated woman seeks solace and purpose in a local book group, while her daughter is dealing with her own life-changing problems that just might be resolved with a little literary assistance. The juxtaposition of the idyllic small town and the harsh reality of the seedier side of Paris, the weight of memory and regret, and the power of human connection, along with the engaging characters all work together to create an enthralling read.


Twenty Wishes (May 2008)
Debbie Macomber

Thirty-eight-year-old widow Anne Marie Roche, the owner of a successful Seattle bookstore, creates a list of twenty wishes, and, while acting upon her wishes, encounters an eight-year-old girl named Ellen who helps her complete her list–with unexpected results.


Happy People Read and Drink Coffee  (May 2016)
Agnes Martin-Lugand

After suffering a deeply tragic personal loss, the owner of a cozy book cafe in Paris moves to a small Irish coastal town where she finds herself at odds with the abrasive and unwelcoming, but handsome, photographer next door.


The Borrower  (June 2011)
Rebecca Makkai

Children’s librarian Lucy Hull routinely gives her favorite patron, 10-year-old Ian, books that do not conform to the rigid rules his overbearing, fundamentalist mother has set for him. When Ian’s parents force him to attend behavior-modification classes that will “cure” his burgeoning homosexuality, Ian determines to run away. A warm, moving, and frequently funny book full of literary references and paeans to the power of reading.


The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (July 2008)
Mary Ann Shaffer

In 1946, writer Juliet Ashton finds inspiration for her next book in her correspondence with a native of Guernsey, who tells her about the Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, a book club born as an alibi during German occupation.


Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand  (Mar 2010)
Helen Simonson

Major Ernest Pettigrew (retired) leads a quiet life in the village of St. Mary, England, until his brother’s death sparks an unexpected friendship with Mrs. Jasmina Ali, the Pakistani shopkeeper from the village. Drawn together by their shared love of literature and the loss of their respective spouses, the Major and Mrs. Ali soon find their friendship blossoming into something more. But will their relationship survive in a society that considers Ali a foreigner?


Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore  (June 2017)
Matthew Sullivan

Lydia Smith is enjoying her comfortable life. She has a job she loves at the Bright Ideas Bookstore. Then one of her favorite “bookfrogs” (code word for eccentric bookstore regulars) commits suicide and leaves her his small horde of books. She discovers a strangely methodical defacement which is a kind of code. A delicate spiderweb of connections leading back to a murderous incident in Lydia’s childhood is revealed.


Mrs. Sinclair’s Suitcase  (Aug 2015)
Louise Walters

A lonely bookstore clerk discovers a hidden letter that reveals her grandmother’s struggles with singlehood, a whirlwind affair during World War II, and the fateful choices that shaped decades of their family life.



Summer Reading  (May 2007)
Hilma Wolitzer

The lives of three very different women–Lissy Snyder, an insecure newlywed and unwilling stepmother; her nosey housecleaner, Michelle; and Angela Graves, the head of a local book group–intersect over the course of a summer in the Hamptons.